top of page
Writer's pictureelise joy

Daisy Jones in a Playlist

Updated: Mar 14, 2023


Image credit: Amazon Prime


The first six out of ten episodes of "Daisy Jones and the Six" are out on Prime, and if you haven't seen them yet what are you doing. The show is so good; it's doing a great job of following the novel of the same name, has incredible outfits and of course the most important thing: the music! With my love of making playlists, enjoy the one I made for Daisy Jones.


"Regret Me" -Daisy Jones & The Six

This song was written by Daisy in ten minutes after fighting with Billy.


"Silver Springs" -Fleetwood Mac

The lyrics sound oddly familiar to "Regret Me", which makes sense because Daisy Jones & The Six is loosely based off of Fleetwood Mac and Stevie's relationship with Lindsey.


"August" -Taylor Swift

Taylor's love triangle—which I wrote a post about already—is perfect for Billy, Camilla and Daisy. In "August," Taylor sings "You weren't mine to lose" which exactly describes Daisy's love for Billy that he couldn't return.


"By Myself" -Daisy Jones

This scene in the first episode was iconic, and Daisy's voice is so pretty!


"Difficult" -Gracie Abrams

Gracie sings that the best way to describe herself is that she's difficult, which is why she's spiraling.


"Cowboy Like Me" -Taylor Swift

Image credit: Amazon Prime


This song is about two lovers in the spotlight, telling everyone else what they want to hear. Taylor says that the relationship obviously would have never worked out; that it was all a show.


"I Feel the Earth Move" -Carole King

This song was also played in the first episode, and Daisy says she loves Carole King so it was the perfect addition.


"Type of Guy" -Daisy Jones

What type of playlist would this be without Daisy's own songs?


"I Should Hate You" -Gracie Abrams

I am reminded of "Regret Me" when I hear these lyrics, because while Daisy writes as if she's angry she really is heartbroken.


"Nothing New" -Taylor Swift

"They tell you while you're young 'Girls, go out and have your fun' Then they hunt and slay the ones who actually do it Criticize the way you fly when you're soarin' through the sky Shoots you down and then they sigh, and say 'She looks like she's been through it'


Lord, what will become of me Once I've lost my novelty?


I've had too much to drink tonight And I know it's sad, but this is what I think about And I wake up in the middle of the night It's like I can feel time moving How can a person know everything at 18 but nothing at 22? And will you still want me when I'm nothing new?"


Need I say more? This song IS Daisy.


"Nobody Needs" -Daisy Jones

Image credit: Amazon Prime


Enjoy hearing Daisy's beautiful voice, while trying not to cry once you actually pay attention to the lyrics. Daisy is singing about her non-existent relationship with her family and how all she wants is a family and to belong.


"Full Machine" -Gracie Abrams

"I know I know better

You're no guarantee

I'm codependent

But tryin' hard not to be

I'm better when you're next to

me"


Daisy can't deny her love for a man she can never have, and can't decide if it would be better or worse to be around him.


"Mirrorball" -Taylor Swift

Image credit: Amazon Prime


"I want you to know

I'm a mirrorball

I'll show you every version of yourself tonight

I'll get you out on the floor

Shimmering beautiful

And when I break it's in a million pieces"


All Daisy wants is to be loved and to be seen.


"Two Against Three" -Daisy Jones & The Six

This is one of Riley Keough's (the actress who portrays Daisy Jones in the show) favorite songs.


"This Is What The Drugs Are For" -Gracie Abrams

"Look, now I'm alone again

Though I've tried, I can't pretend

That I don't sit around and think about you

When all I ever do is think about you


In the middle of the night

I got caught inside a fever

Just to ask if you might leave her"


Even the title screams Daisy, who has a serious addiction to any and all drugs. But when you dig more into the lyrics, you can see that Daisy is alone. It's as she says in the book: "When you find that rare person who really knows who you are and they still don't love you... I was burning."


"Mad Woman" -Taylor Swift

"What did you think I'd say to that? Does a scorpion sting when fighting back? They strike to kill and you know I will You know I will

What do you sing on your drive home? Do you see my face in the neighbor's lawn? Does she smile? Or does she mouth, 'Hate you forever'?


Every time you call me crazy I get more crazy What about that? And when you say I seem angry I get more angry"


This entire song is so perfect for Daisy Jones. Also, Taylor wrote this song about her music being stolen from her which Daisy also experienced with "Stumbled on Sublime."


"Rhiannon" -Fleetwood Mac

Image credit: Amazon Prime


"She rings like a bell through the night

And wouldn't you love to love her?

She rules her life like a bird in flight

And who will be her lover?"


This reminds me of a quote from the book: "Dream big, little bird." Also, the song sounds like a Daisy song and I'm sure she loved it.


"Rockland" -Gracie Abrams

"Hey, I feel like if we gave it one night

You'd hate me less and make it alright

Just wish that we could fight now"


Billy and Daisy were both passionate people, and hated each other while still loving each other.


"I Wish I Never Met You" -Babygirl

"Nothing hurts like

Bein' blindsided by love

Nothing hurts like

Thinkin' I'm not good enough

I cried like a river

Fist fight with the mirror

I guess life ain't all glitter

I wish I never met you

It takes time to get bigger

Shine bright, find a rhythm

And I'll try not be bitter"


"My Tears Ricochet" -Taylor Swift

This song totally reminds me of Daisy and Billy, again.

"If I'm on fire, you'll be made of ashes, too Even on my worst day, did I deserve, babe All the hell you gave me? 'Cause I loved you, I swear I loved you 'Til my dying day


I didn't have it in myself to go with grace And you're the hero flying around, saving face"


"Block Me Out" -Gracie Abrams

Gracie is singing about how she will do anything she can to block herself out of her mind:

"I used to follow my gut, but now I'm just gettin' higher"


"Sad Beautiful Tragic" -Taylor Swift

"Long handwritten note

Deep in your pocket"

This could be any number of the songs Daisy and Billy wrote for each other.


"Words, how little they mean

When you're a little too late"

These lyrics remind me of "No Words" from Aurora.


"And time

Is taking its sweet time erasing you

And you've got your demons

And darlin' they all look like me"

Daisy Jones was Billy's worst nightmare, because she nearly destroyed everything he had built.


"Be Your Own Muse" -Haley Blais

Image credit: Amazon Prime


Just as Daisy said, "I am not a muse. I am the somebody."


"Dreams" -Fleetwood Mac

"Now here you go again, you say you want your freedom

Well, who am I to keep you down?

It's only right that you should play the way you feel it

But listen carefully to the sound of your loneliness"


There is no way Fleetwood Mac is singing to anyone but Daisy in this verse.


"The 1" -Taylor Swift

"But we were something, don't you think so?

Roaring 20s, tossing pennies in the pool

And if my wishes came true

It would've been you

In my defense, I have none

For never leaving well enough alone

But it would've been fun

If you would've been the one

...

I, I, I persist and resist the temptation to ask you

If one thing had been different

Would everything be different today?"


It's as Billy Dunne himself says in the first episode: "It's not enough to meet the right person, you also have to meet them at the right time." Billy saw Daisy as his soulmate; they were the same. And they have incredible memories being in the band together. Maybe if he had met her before starting a family with Camilla, whom he loved with everything, he may have ended up with Daisy. And that knowledge tortured her.


"Love Of My Life" -Harry Styles

Billy was the love of her life, and her soulmate; but it could never work out.


"Untouchable" -Taylor Swift

"Untouchable, burning brighter than the sun And when you're close, I feel like coming undone

In the middle of the night, when I'm in this dream It's like a million little stars spelling out your name You gotta come on, come on Say that we'll be together Come on, come on Little taste of heaven"


"Jolene" -Dolly Parton

Image credit: @daisyjonesandthesix


In this song, it sounds like Camilla is singing to Daisy. Plus, it describes her looks perfectly.

"Your beauty is beyond compare With flaming locks of auburn hair With ivory skin and eyes of emerald green Your smile is like a breath of spring Your voice is soft like summer rain And I cannot compete with you Jolene

He talks about you in his sleep And there's nothing I can do to keep From crying when he calls your name Jolene"


"The Love Club" -Lorde

"Take the pill, make it too real

The other day, I forgot my old address"


"Poison & Wine" -The Civil Wars

"You only know what I want you to

I know everything you don't want me to

Oh, your mouth is poison, your mouth is wine

You think your dreams are the same as mine"

Billy and Daisy!


"You're So Vain" -Carly Simon

Literally Daisy to Billy when she wrote "Regret Me."


"The Winner Takes It All" -ABBA

"I was in your arms

Thinking I belonged there

...

But tell me, does she kiss Like I used to kiss you? Does it feel the same When she calls your name?

Somewhere deep inside You must know I miss you But what can I say? Rules must be obeyed"


"Edge of Seventeen" -Stevie Nicks

Image credit: Pinterest


This song has perfect Daisy vibes. I don't really know how else do describe it, but it fits. The following lyrics also describe Daisy, especially in the dress pictured.

"Just like the white winged dove

Sings a song, sounds like she's singing"


"Matilda" -Harry Styles

All Daisy wanted growing up was to belong. She kind of gained a family with The Six, which is what she always wanted.


"Crazy Little Thing Called Love" -Queen

"There goes my baby

She knows how to rock and roll

She drives me crazy

She gives me hot and cold fever

She leaves me in a cool, cool sweat"


"You're On Your Own, Kid" -Taylor Swift

"I see the great escape

So long, Daisy May

I picked the petals, he loves me not

Something different bloomed

Writing in my room

I play my songs in the parking lot

I'll run away"


Need I say more?


"Ivy" -Taylor Swift

Image credit: Amazon Prime


Daisy cannot stop herself from loving Billy, even though he cannot love her back.

"My pain fits in the palm of your freezing hand

Taking mine, but it's been promised to another

Oh, I can't

Stop you putting roots in my dreamland

My house of stone, your ivy grows

And now I'm covered in you"

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page