top of page
Writer's pictureelise joy

Recent Reads


Image credit: Pinterest


I've loved reading my whole life, but definitely saw my amount of reading decline as I started college. I finally started reading more, and have read a lot of books so far this year. I thought it would be perfect to share my experiences over the past month-and-a-half with all of you.


Mortal Instruments: City of Bones - 5/5 stars


I loved this book so much. I actually discovered this series through the movie: "Mortal Instruments: City of Bones." Though the movie gets cheesy towards the end, Jamie Campbell Bower and Lily Collins did a fantastic job and played their parts well. (Fun fact, the two actually started dating because of this movie.) Be prepared for a crazy plot-twist and cliffhanger... I would recommend looking up a spoiler as that's the only reason I continued reading this series. You just have to get past one of the tropes. I made a playlist for Jace Wayland that you can listen to here.



Mortal Instruments: City of Ashes - 4/5 stars


This book was so good, and I was hooked. The only issue I found was that the storyline felt more in-between. The ending was abrupt, though well-written and gripping.


Daisy Jones & the Six - 5/5 stars


This book was so incredibly good, I couldn't stop reading it. I actually listened to the audio book, which was really cool because there are different voice actors for each character. The book follows the rise and fall of a 70s rock and roll band, and is in interview format with the band members telling the interviewer about their perspectives of what happened. The show comes out March 3, starring Riley Keough (Elvis' granddaughter) as Daisy Jones, Sam Claflin as Billy Dunne, and Suki Waterhouse as Karen Sirko.


Mortal Instruments: City of Glass - 5/5


This book has so many shocking turns, I never knew what would happen next and loved it. It was very descriptive and gripping, I felt stressed for basically the whole book. (In a good way). It honestly felt like the perfect ending for the series, so I was worried the other three books wouldn't live up to the first three.


Mortal Instruments: City of Fallen Angels - 3.5/5 stars


This book was still really good, and I love the "Mortal Instruments" series. There were many good scenes and I struggled to put the book down. In this book, it tries to make secondary characters have a larger part and I often felt bored waiting for Jace or Clary's perspective. *Slight spoiler* Unfortunately the book was also very depressing any time I read Jace's perspective, so I see why we had frequent breaks in POV. I was also frustrated that the climax wasn't fully resolved, though it certainly made me more excited to read book five.


Mortal Instruments: City of Lost Souls - 5/5 stars


I could not put this book down! Cassandra Clare really knows how to blur the lines between good and evil, and keep you feeling happy and depressed at the same time. The vibes were just too good, even with the tragic storyline. Team Evil, or Team Good?

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page