top of page
Writer's pictureelise joy

A Love Triangle (Taylor's Version)


Image credits: Pinterest


Have you ever wondered whether Taylor Swift's songs are written about true events or fiction? While most are about her own life, she admits that many songs in folklore and evermore are fictional.


Three songs in particular from her folklore album are about the same fictional story: "august," "betty," and "cardigan."


These songs are about a love triangle between James, Betty and who fans call "Augustine." Each song is written from a different character's perspective about James cheating on Betty with Augustine in high school.


Something fun to note is James, Betty, and Inez—who told Betty what James had done— are all Blake Lively and Ryan Reynold's children's names. Taylor Swift has been good friends with Blake and Ryan for years now, and says their kids view her as their aunt.


Let's look into what we know about each of Taylor's fictional characters:


Betty

Image Credits: Pinterest


"Cardigan" is written from Betty's perspective. She originally dated James, but over the summer realized that he was cheating on her with another girl. Betty is a studious girl, who is wise and tries hard in school. "Cardigan" starts with Betty's realization of the affair:

"Vintage tee, brand new

phone

High heels on cobblestones

When you are young, they

Assume you know nothing

-

Sequin smile, black lipstick

Sensual politics

When you are young, they

assume you know nothing."


The girl described in this song isn't Betty, it's the other girl whom James had an affair with.


Betty repeats the same phrase twice, saying "When you are young, they assume you know nothing." She's claiming that everyone overlooks teenagers and their pain. James said he never thought Betty would find out, and everyone told Betty she was too young to be so heartbroken.


But right after saying "they assume you know nothing," she counters with saying "but I knew you." She knew James, and the two of them were close. She said that he "drew stars around my scars," and when she felt like an old, forgotten cardigan, "you put me on and said I was your favorite." James was good, and they were in love.


But, she warns him:

"A friend to all is a friend to

none

Chase two girls, lose the one

When they are young, they

assume you know nothin'"


This time, Betty is alluding to the fact that James was given a pass by onlookers, who would say James didn't know any better because he was so young.


And it's exactly James' mindset of being young that is why he loses Betty.


"I knew you

Tried to change the ending

Peter losing Wendy"


In Peter Pan, Peter refused to grow up and mature while Wendy grew and became a better person. James wanted the ending to change and, like Peter, hoped his girlfriend would stay the same.


"Cause I knew everything

when I was young"


Betty grew up and realized that it was growing up that caused her to doubt what she once knew. She lost more and more of her knowledge as she matured, because she realized that the world wasn't black and white.


Even after what James did to her,

"I knew you'd haunt all of my

what-ifs

The smell of smoke would hang around this long

I knew I'd curse you for the

longest time

Chasin' shadows in the

grocery line

I knew you'd miss me once

the thrill expired

And you'd be standin' in my

front porch light"


James

Image Credits: Pinterest


"The worst thing that I ever did

Was what I did to you

But if I just showed up at your

party

Would you have me?

Would you want me?

...

Will you love me?

Will you kiss me on the porch

In front of all your stupid

friends?

If you kiss me, will it be just

like I dreamed it?

Will it patch your broken

wings?"


In "Betty," which is a song for Betty with James' perspective, James talks of his realization of what he did. He showed up at her front porch, like Betty predicted in Cardigan, and begged her to take him back.


Taylor Swift clearly said that James is the true villain in this story, not the other girl. If you pay attention throughout the song, James never once apologizes to Betty as he begs her to love him again. When he asks her to kiss him and forgive him, he even adds the reminder that he feels her friends are stupid.


While James never apologized, he also never took responsibility for what he did. He said:

"I'm only 17, I don't know

anything

But I know I miss you

Standing in your cardigan

Kissin' in my car again"


James, in his refusal to grow up and mature, continues to know nothing. While Betty is forced to mature quickly and realize how much she once knew, and how much she can no longer know because of James' betrayal.


Here is James' excuse for what happened: "Betty, I know where it all went

wrong

Your favorite song was

playing

From the far side of the gym

I was nowhere to be found

I hate the crowds, you know

that

Plus, I saw you dance with him"


Remember Betty singing about the high heels on cobblestones? That's how James and Augustine met, and here is his version of what happened:

"I was walking home on broken cobblestones

Just thinking of you when she

pulled up like

A figment of my worst

intentions

She said "James, get in, let's drive"

Those days turned into nights

Slept next to her, but

I dreamt of you all summer

long"

James blames Augustine for taking charge in their affair, and never adds himself to his actions. For example, when he says "those days turned into nights" rather than saying he "slept next to her."


He also said he never loved Augustine, which she could feel.


Augustine

Image credits: Pinterest


"August slipped away into a

moment in time

'Cause it was never mine

August sipped away like a

bottle of wine

'Cause you were never mine

...

Will you call when you're back

at school?

I remember thinkin' I had you

But I can see us lost in the

memory"


The other women tells a heartbreaking story of loving completely and not receiving love in return. She realized that James would leave her as soon as summer was over, so August was a bittersweet season.


While Augustine had an affair with James, she did love him.

"Back when we were still

changin' for the better

Wanting was enough

For me, it was enough

To live for the hope of it all

Cancel plans just in case you'd call

You weren't mine to lose"


Adding this song to the fictional universe Taylor created showed more depth to the story. Each character is personified as human, with flaws and raw feelings as they speak of heartbreak at such a young age.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page