top of page
Writer's pictureelise joy

Aurora: An Album Review

Updated: Mar 10, 2023


Image credits: Vanity Fair


Aurora, by Daisy Jones & The Six, was released last Thursday. After waiting impatiently for what felt like forever, I could finally listen to the full album.


Daisy Jones & The Six is a fictional band, from Taylor Jenkins Reid's 2019 book and now the show on Prime all with the same name. They are loosely based off of Fleetwood Mac, and their storyline shares the rise and fall of the 70s rock and roll band in a documentary style. It has Sam Claflin as Billy Dunne, Riley Keough (Elvis' granddaughter) as Daisy Jones, Suki Waterhouse as Karen Sirko, and more.


The first three episodes of the series were posted on Thursday, March 3 as well. They were so incredibly good and I cannot wait until the next episodes are released. In the meantime, I can listen to their music.


Aurora

Image credit: Amazon Prime


Billy wrote this song for his wife, Camilla. It is the perfect song for their entire relationship:

"You’re my morning sun

How Aurora

You're my morning sun


I kinda think I wanna make it last forever"


Let Me Down Easy

Image credit: Amazon Prime


This song is so much fun to sing along to, plus obviously about Daisy and Billy's relationship. I think it's really interesting that the song about their relationship appears right after the song about him and Camilla's relationship. It really emphasizes the contrast of the two romances. And you can hear Graham's guitar solo which is fun!


Kill You To Try

Image credit: Amazon Prime


With the intro lyrics, you can tell it will be a fun song. I love how it really feels like a 70s song, with the voices, music and beat. I think this might be about Camilla but honestly can't tell? He does say Honeycomb, which is Camilla's song.

"Don't rip me out of this photograph

Since I found you, I can't stop laughin'

Come on, I need you, babe, you're my better half

Honeycomb"


Two Against Three

Image credit: Amazon Prime


This song was boring to me at first, but after hearing it in the show I like it a lot better. Riley's voice is so pretty in this song, so it has definitely grown in me.


Look At Us Now (Honeycomb)

Image credits: Entertainment Weekly


I love Daisy and Billy's (Sam and Riley's) voices together! This song is based off of "The Chain" by Fleetwood Mac, so I have a lot of fun listening to one after the other.


Regret Me

Image credit: Pinterest


This was the first song they released a month before the rest of the album. I love it so much, and have been listening to this song on repeat ever since. Fun fact! Daisy wrote this song in ten minutes after getting into a fight with Billy, writing the lyrics on a napkin from her car with her eyeliner.


You Were Gone

Image credits: Pinterest


Again, their voices blend so well. This song also reminds me of Billy and Daisy—I don't think Billy can write about anything but Daisy. But this is a more sad song, about needing someone who wasn't there for them. *BOOK SPOILER: This actually reminds me of when Daisy was finally ready to go to rehab, but Billy wasn't in a place to help her and she gave up.

"A tree carvin' of our names left high and alone

Nothin' ever seems to stay that way, not for too long

Where were you? Oh, when I needed you, you were gone

When I needed you, you were gone"


More Fun To Miss

Image credit: Pinterest


Eddie's bass sounds SO COOL. Riley's/Daisy's voice sounds SO GOOD. I love it, it's such a fun song to blast! The echoing is a fun touch as well.


Please

Image credit: Pinterest


Okay I love this song. Sam's/Billy's raspy voice? Yes. The background music? Yes. The pleading lyrics? 100%. Wondering whether this song is about a girl or drugs? Epitome of Billy's songwriting.

"Please, I'm down on my knees

I have a family

Please, it's an awful disease

And it's getting me

Merged with a terrible urge every night

Please, if it's only a single bite"


The River

Image credit: Pinterest


This might be my favorite song on the album? I love all of their voices together, and hearing everything at once. I feel like I can hear the whole band having fun.

"If I follow you to the river

Send my blues out to the sea

Will you stay with me forever?

Will you chase me in my dreams?

If I throw it all in the river

And let the rhythm take the lead

Will it stay with you whenever

That you leave on me?"


No Words

Image credit: Pinterest


We again get to hear their voices blend together in harmony, which I love if I haven't made that clear. It's definitely a slower song, but I feel like it's the perfect finish for the album.


Honorary Mention: To Love


On Friday, March 3, Suki Waterhouse also released a new single! I first heard this song during her sound check at the Portland Coolest Place In The World concert and have been thinking about it ever since. I love it so much!! The song is about her and Robert Pattinson's relationship of almost five years. It's a very different song from her others about sorrow and heartbreak, which you can hear in her lyrics:

"And we talk of how lucky we got

As we watched old lovers we dodged

While the world's falling apart

You make it so easy to love

...

Now I found myself this kinda love, I can't believe it

I'll never leave it behind"


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page