top of page
Writer's pictureelise joy

The Rise of 70s: Modern Design Trends

Updated: May 9

The 70s could not be trending at a more perfect time for me. Let's recap the 70s things I'm loving lately:

  • Daisy Jones and the Six

  • Midnights

  • The Marauders

While it's not a lot of things, I'm surprised even three of my obsessions are from the same time-period. I created my own 70s era playlist, which is full of songs I love from the 70s, and, of course, songs from Daisy Jones and the Six. And yet these are no longer my only obsessions set in the 70s, because interior design trends are leaning towards the 70s! And I love it all so much. Let's discuss what's trending.


Arches & Curves


via pinterest


Dare I say the cool, grey accents are gone? It seems as though homes are getting warmer and warmer, which I am really loving! Homes are getting warmer not just with color, but with shape. So many more round elements are being added to architecture and furniture, as we can see in these images. Whether it be the white, rounded couch, the unique mirror, or the stucco fireplace.


Wood Accents

via pinterest


via pinterest


via pinterest


As someone who likes to accent my neutral room with instances of wood in picture frames or furniture, I didn't even realize how much I would love these wooden highlights! When done right, wood can be used to enhance a room and make it look homier. For me personally, I wouldn't have a lot of wood accents. But it's a great option to add warmth and a natural aesthetic to any room!


Also, can we just take a minute to admire the windows in these homes? I would love it so much if I had that much natural light! Especially the ceiling windows. They are now a need in my future home.


Smokey Glass

via urban outfitters

via homary

via etsy


Firstly, each of these objects are very unique shapes, which is a 70s trend. Additionally, I love the way the smoky glass adds a soft, strong comfort into the home. Do soft and strong work together? This glass would argue they do.


Thank you for reading! Remember to keep your eye out for all the incredible 70s-inspired designs, and have a great week!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page