top of page
Writer's pictureelise joy

mad woman – a short story by elise

Updated: Jun 13, 2023

A friend to all is a friend to none

Chase two girls, lose the one

When you are young, they assume you know nothin'

But I knew you

-Taylor Swift, Cardigan


Seagulls flew overhead as she watched the waves crash against the rocks. Betty didn’t know how long she had been pacing, and supposed she should make her way home before dark. She checked her phone: 7:00 p.m. But she couldn’t keep from battling the thoughts and memories Inez had brought back to the surface. Sure, Betty assumed. But it was a whole different thing to hear someone else say it.

She remembered shoving her AP Chemistry textbook into her backpack and preparing to leave school for the day, when Inez had come running over. “Betty!” She cried out, “I need to tell you something.”

To be honest, the rest of her conversation with Inez was a bit of a blur. She remembered being annoyed, because she tended to stay away from Inez and her group of rumor-creating friends. But she had stayed, and Inez had told her. “He’s cheating on you. Has been for months.”

Was Inez telling the truth this time? Betty had guessed James was hiding something, but was always one to give him the benefit of the doubt. She wasn’t so sure now.

The wind was blowing her sandy-blonde hair into her face, but Betty didn’t notice. If it was a different circumstance, Betty would have thought about how long it would take to detangle. If James were here, he would laugh with her and pull it back, the dimples she loved showing on his face. She wasn’t laughing now.

“Betty?”

It can’t be. Betty turned slowly to face him, unable to hide the shock in her wide eyes. He was there, wearing his favorite Levis and ignoring the fact that they were soaked, though he had always refused to get them near the ocean in the past. He looked concerned as his right hand reached towards her, as if he was unsure of how Betty would react.

“James. What are you doing here?”

He seemed to regain some composure, and put both hands by his side, mimicking Betty’s own stiff posture. “Why did you switch homerooms?”

Her eyes narrowed as she closed her mouth, and she saw James glance at her lips. “I bet you can guess why.” Her voice was full of venom, and James’ eyebrows furrowed with concern.

“Betty, look, whatever Inez said—” “You want to talk about Inez?”

“What did she tell you? You know she’s a gossip, Betty,” James said. He was using the gentle voice he often used with his nieces and nephews when they had tantrums. “You can’t believe everything she says, you know that.”

He paused for a minute, ducking his head and looking into her eyes, the way he always did when Betty cried.

As if he read her mind, he whispered, “Betty, don’t cry.”

“I’m not, James,” she said, though her wavering voice betrayed her. Betty stood a little straighter, trying to seem closer to James’ height. “Is Inez right?”

James clenched his jaw, “This time, yeah.” He said after a pause.

Betty turned to leave.

He lurched forward, blocking her way. “Betty, wait! Look, yes, Inez is right. But can you blame me? You were dancing with Bill at the dance. Bill. I mean, what was I supposed to do with that?”

“James, I was only dancing with Bill because you refused to dance with me! And dancing with someone is very different tha—”

“You know I hate dancing! You’re lucky I went to that stupid dance.”

Betty just stood there, glaring at James and willing herself not to give him the satisfaction of crying. She would be firm. “I can tell you what you weren’t supposed to do. You weren’t supposed to leave the dance without telling me and find some other girl to keep you company. For two months. While dating me.”

The few people still out this late in the evening were slowing their pace as they walked by so they could hear as much as possible.

James straightened his posture, now on the defensive. “You know what, Betty? You’re throwing a lot of blame for someone with your past.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?” Betty challenged.

James looked around at the onlookers and smirked. He loved being in the center of attention. He looked back at Betty and changed his face to look solemn with some difficulty. “It means that yes, I was stupid. But I’m only 17, I don’t know anything. All I know is I miss you,” his slight smile was victorious.

“What did you think I’d say to that?” Betty folded her arms over her chest as she looked up and clenched her jaw. “We’re done. This is over.”

“And how are you going to get to school? You don’t even have a car.”

Betty scoffed. “I think I’ll manage, James. I have plenty of friends, unlike you.”

“You’re still friends with those idiots? Seriously, Betty, they are so unlike you. You can do so much better.”

“Oh, by dating you? Tell me, James, would that be for one month or two before you find some other, more interesting girl?” She was shaking now, hands clenched in fists. She could feel her face grow red as she thought about whether or not to punch him.

“You’re cute when you’re mad, Betty.” James grinned, “ It was just a summer thing.”

“Leave me alone!” Betty screamed, spit flying, as she stormed off. The onlookers now became very interested in the sand and ocean, one woman looked at her own hand as if it was her first time seeing it. It was hard to storm off in sand, and Betty knew she wasn’t looking as menacing as she wished she could.

Betty, you’re being emotional. Just listen to what I’m saying. I’m apologizing,” James placed his hand on her arm and looked into her eyes. Betty hoped he heard the obscenities she was shouting in her head. “I dreamt of you all summer long, Betty.”

Betty jerked away from his hand. “Emotional? I have every right to be emotional, James,” she snapped. She was breathing heavily, and her throat now hurt from screaming at who she once thought was the love of her life.

“Betty, I know you. You act like we haven’t talked for months. I’ve been with you all—” “That's worse! How do you not understand that, James?! You cheated on me for months and pretended you were in love with me!"

James looked at her for some time, straightened his back, looked ahead, and looked back down. His eyes narrowed as his brows came together. “Don’t you think it’s a little stupid to blame me? Maybe if you would have loved me more I would have stayed.”

He strode off, refusing to let Betty have the last word and leaving her to stand red-faced and shaking as the sun set behind her.


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page