top of page
Writer's pictureelise joy

Jace and Clary In A Playlist

Updated: Jun 27

Image credit: Pinterest


I don't know how many of you have read the "Mortal Instruments" series by Cassandra Clare, but I'm almost done with the sixth and final book of the series and love it so much. I finally made Jace and Clary their own playlist about their relationship in order, and it took me weeks to perfect. So naturally this post will have spoilers for those planning on reading the series. But I had so much fun creating the playlist, and wanted to share my reasons for adding each song. If you just want to listen to the playlist, you can by selecting the link below:


This post was SO FUN to write, so I hope you enjoy it!! If you want to read me progressively becoming more unhinged, read on.


"Gorgeous" -Taylor Swift

This song reminds me of when they first saw each other at the club in "City of Bones."

"You're so gorgeous

I can't say anything to your

face

'Cause look at your face"


Foreshadowing the next few books, yay:

"There's nothing I hate more

than what I can't have"


"Enchanted" -Taylor Swift

This entire song is honestly perfect for the whole first book, as they're enchanted to meet each other. AND Jace is constantly jealous of Clary's relationship with Simon, hoping she's not in love with someone else. It's as Jace reflects in book three, "[I] couldn't stop thinking. About the first time I ever saw you, and how after that I couldn't forget you... And even back then, in that stupid coffee shop, when I saw you sitting on that couch with Simon, even then that felt wrong to me—I should have been the one sitting with you. The one who made you laugh like that. I couldn't get rid of that feeling... like you were some part of me I'd lost and never even knew I was missing until I saw you again."


"Please don't be in love with

someone else

Please don't have somebody

waiting on you

...

I was enchanted to meet you."


"Oh Caroline" -The 1975

Jace fell in love with Clary basically the moment he met her, but this reminds me of the greenhouse scene from his perspective in the epilogue of book one.

"I wanna get it right this time

'Cause you're always on my mind.

...

I don't want to waste

my life without you"


"Snow On The Beach" -Taylor Swift

"Life is emotionally abusive

And time can't stop me quite

like you did

...

I'm unglued - thanks to you

And it's like snow at the beach

Weird but it was beautiful

Flying in a dream

Stars by the pocketful

You wanting me

Tonight

Feels impossible"

Jace's abusive father told him "to love is to destroy," so it scared him when he started to fall for Clary. Likewise, Clary couldn't believe that Jace actually liked her of all people.


"I Think He Knows" -Taylor Swift

"He got that boyish look that I

like in a man I am an architect, I'm drawing

up the plans It's like I'm 17, nobody

understands No one understands

He got my heartbeat Skipping down 16th Avenue Got that, oh! I mean Wanna see what's under that

attitude, like I want you, bless my soul And I ain't gotta tell him, I think he knows"

Fun fact, Taylor Swift actually wrote this song from Clary's perspective! Okay in all honesty though, it works perfectly. She is literally an artist, falls in love, wants to see what's under his sarcasm, and thinks he can see right through her and knows she's fallen for him.


"I Wanna Be Yours" -Arctic Monkeys

While both Clary and Jace fall for each other, they're too nervous to say anything about it. And as Jace does literally anything Clary asks, the whole time he is slowly realizing that she's all he wants.

"You call the shots, babe I just wanna be yours

Secrets I have held in my heart Are harder to hide than I thought Maybe I just wanna be yours I wanna be yours"


"Gold Rush" -Taylor Swift

Clary falls for Jace, whom she describes as the color gold countless times, but realizes that means lots of blushing and feeling jealous of other girls flirting with him. And she also thinks he is the most attractive person to walk the earth. So, again, Taylor has written the perfect song just for Cassandra Clare.

"But I don't like a gold rush, gold rush

I don't like anticipating my face in a red flush

I don't like that anyone would die to feel your touch

Everybody wants you

Everybody wonders what it would be like to love you

Walk past, quick brush

...

What must it be like

To grow up that beautiful?

With your hair falling into place like dominos"


"The Blue" -Gracie Abrams

I love this song so much, but even better when I realize how accurate it is for Jace and Clary.

"You'd talk about your dad He used to get so angry He'd scare you and your brother 'Til you felt you needed saving I know I'd let you in On all my bad decisions You'd make them feel less terrible The second that you'd listen

What are you doing to me now? What are you doing to me now?

You came out of the blue like that You came out of the blue like that I never could've seen you coming I think you're everything I've wanted"


Like Jace literally had an abusive father who scared and hurt him and his brother. And Clary is constantly making rash decisions to save people, and Jace is always helping her do so. AND, neither of them know how to navigate this feeling.


"Jump Then Fall" -Taylor Swift

"Don't be afraid to jump

then fall Jump then fall into me Baby, I'm never gonna leave you Say that you wanna be

with me too 'Cause I'ma stay

through it all So jump then fall

Well, I like the way your

hair falls in your face You got the keys to me I love each freckle on your face, oh I've never been so wrapped up,

honey I like the way you're

everything I ever wanted I had time to think it o-over And all I can say is come closer Take a deep breath and

jump then fall into me

'Cause every time you smile, I smile And every time you shine, I'll shine for you"


"Hurts Just Right" -The Ivy

Thanks a LOT, Valentine. Way to ruin everything, per usual. Ready to start book two, "City of Ashes"?

"It hurts just right

When you are not mine"


"Love Of My Life" -Harry Styles

With our knowledge that these two are not in fact siblings and meant to be together, book two is very sad. But obviously by thinking they're related, they're not going to pursue any romantic relationship.

"Baby, you were the love of my

life, woah

Maybe you don't know what's

lost 'til you find it

It's not what I wanted, to leave

you behind"


"Death By A Thousand Cuts" -Taylor Swift

"Saying goodbye is death by a

thousand cuts

Flashbacks waking me up

I get drunk, but it's not

enough

'Cause the morning comes

and you're not my baby

I look through the windows of

this love

Even though we boarded

them up

Chandelier's still flickering

here

'Cause I can't pretend it's ok

when it's not

It's death by a thousand cuts"


"Woman" -Harry Styles

Jace had to sit back and watch Simon date Clary, which was torture for him. However, even after they broke up, he still feared seeing Clary in love with anyone else, knowing it was selfish. In "City of Glass," he says, "'And I'm supposed to sit by while you date boys, fall in love with someone else, get married...?' His voice tightened. 'And meanwhile, I'll die a little bit more every day, watching.'"


"I'm selfish, I know But I don't ever want to

see you with him"


"Do I Wanna Know?" -Arctic Monkeys

They both wonder how the other is doing and feeling with the knowledge that they are siblings. Do they really love each other? Is the other one over it? Do they even want to know?


"No Control" -One Direction

This reminds me of that one scene in "City of Ashes," where Jace says he would do anything for her and just wants to be with her even though he knew it would never work.

"I can't contain this anymore

I'm all yours, I've got no

control, no control

Powerless

And I don't care it's obvious

I just can't get enough of you"


"War Of Hearts" -Ruelle

"I can't help but love you

Even though I try not to

I can't help but want you

I know that I'd die without you"


"Fearless" -Taylor Swift

Okay so firstly, Clary literally makes the fearless rune and uses it on Jace so that's already perfect. But also, he really does help her feel fearless as she risks her life fighting demons and her own father.


"Hits Different" -Taylor Swift

In "City of Glass," book three, Clary walks in on Jace kissing another girl, Aline, and just stands there in shock. "Dizziness washed over Clary, as if all the air had been sucked out of the room."

"I picture you with other

girls, in love

then throw up on

the street."


"Afterglow" -Taylor Swift

Right after the last scene, Jace yells at Clary for coming to Alicante. He hurts her, which in his own mind will keep her away from danger and safe while also hurting himself, and of course he feels awful about it afterwards.

"I blew things out of

proportion,

now you're blue Put you in jail for something

you didn't do I pinned your hands behind

your back, oh Thought I had reason to

attack, but no

Fighting with a true love

is boxing with no gloves Chemistry 'til it blows up, 'til

there's no us Why'd I have to break what I

love so much? It's on your face,

and I'm to blame,

I need to say

Hey, it's all me, in my head I'm the one who burned us

down But it's not what I meant Sorry that I hurt you I don't wanna do, I don't

wanna do this to you I don't wanna lose, I don't

wanna lose this with you"


"Little Freak" -Harry Styles

While Jace tries to deny his feelings for Clary, he can't stop thinking about her.

"I was thinkin' about who you

are Your delicate point of view, I Was thinkin' about you I'm not worried about where

you are Or who you will go home to,

I'm Just thinkin' about you

I disrespected you Jumped in feet first, and I

landed too hard A broken ankle, karma rules You never saw my birthmark"


Also, his star birthmark on his shoulder is literally proof he is a Herondale and not a Morgenstern; this would have proven they weren't siblings had Clary seen it and understood its significance.


"I'm In Love With You" -The 1975

Remember when he comes into her room the night before we later learn he planned to sacrifice himself to save everyone, and says: "'There is no pretending.' Jace said with absolute clarity. 'I love you, and I will love you until I die, and if there's a life after that, I'll love you then.'" It was the first time he told Clary he loved her.


"The Great War" -Taylor Swift

"My knuckles were bruised

like violets

Sucker punching walls,

cursed you as I sleep talked"

His knuckles were literally bruised, because Jace punched a window after the "Afterglow" scene.


"All that bloodshed, crimson

clover

Uh-huh, sweet dream was over

My hand was the one you

reached for

All throughout the Great War"

They are literally shadowhunters who fought together and protected each other.


"You drew up some good faith

treaties

I drew curtains closed, drank

my poison all alone

You said I have to trust more

freely"

After Clary realized Jace was going alone to sacrifice himself to save the world, she single-handedly created a peace treaty amongst downworlders and shadowhunters in hopes to help him.


"That was the night I nearly

lost you

I really thought I'd lost you"

Clary literally had to witness Jace die right in front of her, but luckily was able to beg the Angel Raziel to bring him back to life.


"I vowed I would always be

yours

'Cause we survived the Great

War"

Finally they can be together!


"It's Not Living (If It's Not With You)" -The 1975

With both characters having to face death, they realized that they didn't want to live without the other.


"Iris" -The Goo Goo Dolls

"And I'd give up forever to

touch you

'Cause I know that you feel

me somehow

You're the closest to heaven

that I'll ever be"


"And I don't want the world to

see me

'Cause I don't think that they'd

understand

When everything's made to

be broken

I just want you to know who I

am"


"This Love" -Taylor Swift

"In wildest dreams

I never dreamed of this

This love is good

This love is bad

This love is alive

Back from the dead"


"Happiness" -The 1975

Now they're finally happy and in love.

"She showed me what love is

...

I would go blind just to

see you

...

I'm never gonna love

again, hey

Show me your love"


"Late Night Talking" -Harry Styles

"Now you're in my life

I can't get you off my mind"


"Cornelia Street" -Taylor Swift

I feel like this is the perfect song to start book four, or "City of Fallen Angels".

"And I hope I never lose you

Hope it never ends

I'd never walk Cornelia Street

again

That's the kind of heartbreak

time could never mend

...

I get mystified by how

this city screams your name

And baby, I'm so terrified of if

you ever walk away."


"Temporary Fix" -One Direction

This song reminds me of Jace's dreams throughout "City of Fallen Angels."


"Ours" -Taylor Swift

Clary's mom, Jocelyn, strongly disliked Jace because he reminded her of Valentine. She made no effort to hide her distaste in front of him, but Clary refused to let it bother her. Because she loved Jace and that was what mattered. Plus, Jace would do anything for her, even as the world (and himself) was falling apart.

"Seems like there's always

someone who disapproves They'll judge it like they know

about me and you ... The jury's out, but my choice

is you

So don't you worry your

pretty, little mind People throw rocks at things

that shine And life makes love look hard The stakes are high, the

water's rough But this love is ours"


Also the first verse reminds me of Clary missing Jace while he's possessed, which is the perfect bridge towards book five.

"Elevator buttons and morning

air

Strangers' silence makes me

wanna take the stairs

If you were here we'd laugh

about their vacant stares"


"Slip" -Suki Waterhouse

"And I sold something

To the devil I never met

...

Slipped out of here a ghost"

This is about Jace's possession, which is so sad. He is slowly slipping away, and there's nothing anyone can do.

"Sparks Fly" -Taylor Swift

The scene where Jace and Clary kiss in the rain outside of Simon's band concert! Plus it literally sings about someone with green eyes, and Jace is constantly thinking about Clary's eyes.

"You're the kind of reckless

that should send me running,

but I kinda know that I won't

get far

...

Drop everything now, meet

me in the pouring rain

Kiss me on the sidewalk, take

away the pain

'Cause I see sparks fly

whenever you smile

Get me with those green

eyes, baby, as the lights go

down"


"About You" -The 1975

This is about Jace being missing for forever in the fifth book, but then we learn he thought only of her the entire time. Even possession couldn't halt his love for Clary.

"I know a place

It's somewhere I go when I

Need to remember your face"


"Paris" -Taylor Swift

This song reminds me of Clary and Jace living with Sebastian, which I know isn't the most romantic since Jace wasn't technically himself the whole time. But their cute date in Italy, and even going to Paris, was fun to read nonetheless. Also these song lyrics so perfectly encompasses their love for each other:

"Sit quiet by my side in the shade"

...

"I'm so in love that I might stop

breathing

Drew a map on your bedroom

ceiling

No, I didn't see the news

'Cause we were somewhere

else

Stumble down pretend

alleyways."


"When We Are Together" -The 1975

This song is super sweet, about being in love and being your best when you're together. However, the song also implies that they are no longer together. This reminds me of the bittersweetness of book five, when Clary is physically with Jace but knows he's not truly himself.

"The only time I feel I might

get better is when

we are together."


"Don't Blame Me" -Taylor Swift

I'm reminded of when Clary joins "Team Evil," pretending to believe in their ideals, to be with Jace.

"For you, I would cross the line

I would waste my time

I would lose my mind

They say, she's gone too far

this time

Don't blame me, love made

me crazy

If it doesn't, you ain't doin' it

right."


Then I'm also reminded of the fact that Jace has no real name (which is heartbreaking), and about a million identity crises. Not only is his first name simply the name of someone else his father was pretending he was, he goes through four last names: Wayland, Morgenstern, Lightwood, and finally, Herondale. But he says in the second book, "City of Ashes": "There was no Jace Wayland more real than the one he saw in her eyes when she looked at him."

"My name is whatever you

decide, and

I'm just gonna call you mine."


"Kiss Me Kiss Me" -5 Seconds of Summer

Again, this song reminds me of their dates and late night talks in the fifth book.

"Flashlights, held tight, we can

own this town

Never say goodbye

So kiss me, kiss me, kiss me

And tell me that I'll see you

again

Cause I don't know

If I can let you go

So kiss me, kiss me, kiss me

I'm dying just to see you again

Let's make tonight the best of our lives"


"Dress" -Taylor Swift

I was first reminded of the faerie club scene:

"Our secret moments in a

crowded room

They got no idea about me

and you"

... "You kiss my face and we're

both drunk

Everyone thinks that they

know us

But they know nothing about

All of this silence and

patience

Pining and anticipation."


But then towards the end of the song, I'm reminded of the time when Jace gets rid of his possession for a night. He is amazed that Clary has been fighting for him throughout everything, and even more amazed that she immediately forgives him.

"Even in my worst times

You could see the best of me

Flashback to my mistakes

My rebounds, my

earthquakes

Even in my worst lies

You saw the truth in me.

And I woke up just in time.

Now I wake up by your side

My one and only, my lifeline"


"Daylight" -Taylor Swift

FINALLY Jace is no longer possessed and I can sleep peacefully. You cannot tell me this entire song wasn't written by Jace.

"I don't wanna look at anything

else now that I saw you

I don't wanna think of

anything else now that I

thought of you.

I've been sleeping so long in a

20-year dark night.

And now I see daylight, I only see daylight.

...

I wounded the good and I

trusted the wicked

...

I only see daylight."


And also let's not forget this quote that works perfectly with Jace constantly being described as golden.

"Back and forth from New York

I once believed love would be

Burning red

But it's golden

Like daylight"


And lastly, the voice clip at the end of the song IS JACE I swear.

"I wanna be defined by the

things that I love

Not the things I hate

Not the things that I'm afraid

of,

Not the things that haunt me

in the middle of the night

I, I just think that

You are what you love."


"Adore You" -Harry Styles

Firstly, Clary and Jace are both constantly talking about each other's eyes.

"I get so lost inside your eyes"


And also, Jace is literally consumed by fire on the regular since being stabbed by the Angel's Sword.

"I'd walk through fire for you

Just let me adore you

Like it's the only thing I'll ever

do."


"Hey Stephen" -Taylor Swift

"'Cause I can't help it if you

look like an angel

Can't help it if I wanna kiss you in the rain, so

Come feel this magic I've

been feeling since I met you"

... "The way you walk, way you

talk, way you say my name

It's beautiful, wonderful, don't

you ever change."


Not only do they both have angel blood, Clary repeatedly compares Jace's appearance to an angels. ADDITIONALLY, Clary loves the way Jace says her name.


"Feels Like" -Gracie Abrams

"I would do whatever you wanted

We don't have to leave the apartment

Met you at the right time

This is what it feels like

Livin' in a movie I've watched and

Funny 'cause I couldn't have called it

Met you at the right time

This is what it feels like"


"Mine" -Taylor Swift

Another song Taylor wrote for Cassandra:

"Do you remember, we were

sittin', there by the water? You put your arm around me

for the first time You made a rebel of a careless

man's careful daughter You are the best thing,

that's ever been mine


Flash forward, and we're takin'

on the world together And there's a drawer of my

things at your place You learn my secrets and you

figure out why I'm guarded You say we'll never make

my parents' mistakes"


It's literally both Clary and Jace talking to each other, and I love it so much. In the first verse, Clary is thinking about how Jace is the best thing that happened to her as he helped her become fearless and brave and loved. Then Jace is saying they're fighting side by side, which they do often, and Clary knows all about his traumatic past with his parents.


"Only Angel" -Harry Styles

Not only does Clary literally have angel blood, she symbolizes the good in Jace's life.

"She's an angel

My only angel"


"All Of The Girls You Loved Before" -Taylor Swift

"Your past and mine are parallel lines

Stars all aligned and they intertwined

And taught you

The way you call me "baby"

Treat me like a lady

All that I can say is


All of the girls you loved before (Ooh)

Made you the one I've fallen for

Every dead-end street led you straight to me

Now you're all I need, I'm so thankful for

All of the girls you loved before

But I love you more"


A special thank you to Taylor herself, who released this song for my fangirl heart.


"Adore You" -Miley Cyrus

I feel like I'm standing with an army

Of men armed with weapons, hey, oh-oh


When you say you love me

Know I love you more

And when you say you need me

Know I need you more

Boy, I adore you

I adore you


I love lying next to you

I could do this for eternity, you and me

We're meant to be in holy matrimony

God knew exactly what he was doing

When he led me to you"


"Call It What You Want" -Taylor Swift

"My baby's fit like a daydream

Walking with his head down

I'm the one he's walking to

So call it what you want, yeah,

call it what you want to

My baby's fly like a jet stream

High above the whole scene

Loves me like I'm brand new

..

I want to wear his initial

On a chain round my neck,

chain round my neck

Not because he owns me

But 'cause he really knows me"


Okay and Jace literally gives her his family ring on a chain for her to wear. Perfect.


"You Are In Love" -Taylor Swift

"One look, dark room Meant just for you Time moved too fast You play it back Buttons on a coat Light-hearted joke No proof, not much But you saw enough Small talk, he drives Coffee at midnight The light reflects The chain on your neck He says, "Look up" And your shoulders brush No proof, one touch But you felt enough

You can hear it in the silence, silence, you You can feel it on the way home, way home, you You can see it with the lights out, lights out You are in love, true love You are in love"

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page